Feed your mind with creativity

I used to read short stories and novels almost every day. Sometimes I even go 8 hours reading continuously. Then as years went by the amount of work in life piled up and the time I spent reading books decreased. As social media took the lives of teenagers and adults alike, reading books become more of an afterthought when, only a few years ago it was more of a habit that made us entangled in a world of our own. To be honest I really miss the days when I used to stay up late not by watching movies or socializing on social media networks but reading novels that swept my feet and took me on a journey of its own.

In the recent times as I try to make creative decisions my mind tends to be lazy, unoriginal, boring and dull. When I used to do a lot of reading  these issues were never a problem for me. Sad to say I feel that today, the active mind of mine that used to ask questions and share a lot of ideas has worn out. I feel that it is the lack of feeding my mind with creativity and imagination. I guess you realized the worth of having something,  is only when you really need that something but it you don’t have it. It’s time for me to start reading more. I really miss reading and I regret to have stopped reading as much as I used to.

Nurture your mind with great thoughts, for you will never go any higher than you think.'

“Nurture your mind with great thoughts, for you will never go any higher than you think.”

My need for creative thinking and speaking out brainstorming ideas has forced me to make time for reading. The famous saying, “Reading maketh a full man” over flows with great meaning which I have now come to realize its meaning through my own experience.

“If you care for your mind, if you nurture it and if you cultivate it just like a fertile, rich garden, it will blossom far beyond your expectations. But if you let the weeds take root, lasting peace of mind and deep inner harmony will always elude you.” from the book, THE MONK WHO SOLD HIS FERRARI.

Leave a Reply

