I am me

This is me.
This is how I’ll be.
I lay on my bed and sip my tea.
Thinking about life, freedom and my liberty.
Surrounding me the words of freedom as far as my eyes can see.
In the newspapers, radio and T.V
Everyone is in a rush and has the urge for emotion.
So wide, so diverse, so unpredictable to explain even for Tennessee.
This is me.
This is how I’ll be.
I may eat like a monkey.
I may act like a donkey.
I may think like a turkey.
and yes, seems like a comedy.
But this is me.
This is how I’ll be
So, don’t judge me.
Cause your validation is not important to me.
Same goes to you lady.
I don’t care about the colour of your saree
or design of your goatee.
Or where you were born as a baby.
Let’s put our differences and other things that I didn’t mention because I’m too lazy.
By doing so, lets live in harmony.
Because;
you need to be you.
I need to be me.
This is what we all must be.
or else we may lose our individuality. 

© Nazmi Mahamood, All rights reserved.
http://allpoetry.com/poem/10462155-I_am_me-by-PeaceBoy

Image

Leave a Reply

